#### KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

## **GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL**

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 11 February 2011.

PRESENT: Miss S J Carey, Mr D S Daley, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

## **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

## 1. Election of Chairman for the meeting (*Item* )

(1) Mr R J Parry moved, seconded by Mr D S Daley that Mr R Tolputt be elected Chairman for the meeting.

Carried Unanimously

(2) Mr R Tolputt thereupon assumed the Chair.

## **2. Minutes - 20 December 2010** (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 20 December 2010 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

## 3. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel agreed to appoint Mr A Chell, Mrs C Hardy, Mrs Luckhurst and Mr K Webb to the Governing Body of the proposed Federation of Loose Infant and Loose Junior Schools.
- (2) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mr A Day to the Governing Body of South Avenue Junior School. Although Mr Day did not meet guideline (h), he had initially been appointed before the guideline was added in 2008. Mr Day was now the Chairman of Governors and had provided a strong supporting statement from the Vice-Chairman.
- (3) The Panel agreed to the appointment of Mr T Carpenter to the Governing Body of Ursuline College. Although Mr Carpenter did not meet guideline (h), he had been a governor at the school since 2001. His child was a sixth form pupil at the college, and the Panel agreed that Mr Carpenter had considerable experience as a governor which would continue to be of value beyond the point where his child left the college.
- (4) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mrs H Best to the Governing Body of St Peter's CEP School, Tunbridge Wells. Although Mrs Best did not meet

guideline (h), she had initially been appointed before the guideline was added in 2008. The Panel noted that she had an exemplary attendance record and that she had undertaken a very great amount of work on the school's behalf. This was confirmed by the supporting letters from the Head Teacher and the governing body itself.

- (5) The Panel agreed to Mr J Keeler's request for a further term of office as an additional governor.
- (6) The Panel did not agree to the re-appointment of Mr Y Kaushik to the governing body of White Hill Primary School in Gravesham. This was because his attendance record was 38% and there was every reason to believe that this low level would continue.
- (7) The Panel noted with regret that Mr W Gardner had decided not to stand for a further term of office at Sandown School.
- (8) The Panel decided not to bring forward consideration of the nominations of Mr O Wyllie (Stella Maris Catholic Primary School), Mr E Lampkin (Wilmington Grammar School for Boys) and Mr S Young (Newlands Primary School) because it considered that it had insufficient information to do so.
- (9) The Panel noted the action taken under delegated powers by the Managing Director Children, Families and Education in consultation with the Chairman to appoint Mr S Webb and Mr A Froud to the Governing Body of Lunsford Primary School.
- (10) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

# **APPENDIX** (Paragraph 3 of the Minutes refers)

## ASHFORD

SchoolAppointeeDowns View Infant SchoolMrs F MooreMersham Primary SchoolMrs M Radcliffe

#### 2. CANTERBURY

SchoolAppointeeSt Nicholas ' SchoolMiss V BurleyThe Community College, WhitstableMr G JohnsonThe Community College, WhitstableMr P Casey

## 3. DARTFORD

SchoolAppointeeJoydens Wood Infant SchoolMrs A D AllenThe Brent Primary SchoolMr B Streets

## 4. DOVER

SchoolAppointeeAylesham Primary SchoolMrs S CollingwoodDeal Parochial CEP SchoolMr C SmithTemple Ewell CEP SchoolMrs J Olpin

## 5. GRAVESHAM

SchoolAppointeeCecil Road Primary SchoolMr J CubittIstead Rise Primary SchoolMrs H WestRiverview Junior SchoolMr W LambertSt George's CE SchoolMrs P McBeanSt John's Catholic Comprehensive SchoolMr S Pottay

## 6. MAIDSTONE

SchoolAppointeeBrunswick House Community SchoolMr S TrevithickMolehill Copse Primary SchoolMr E WattsPalace Wood Primary SchoolMr G Garrett

#### 7. SEVENOAKS

SchoolAppointeeFour Elms Primary SchoolMrs J CowanFurness SchoolMr D Andrews

## 8. SHEPWAY

## School

Cheriton Primary School Folkestone St Martin's CEP School Palmarsh Primary School Sandgate Primary School Seabrook CEP School

#### 9. SWALE

#### School

Eastling Primary School
Luddenham School
South Avenue Junior School
St Mary of Charity CEP School
Teynham Parochial CEP School

## 10. THANET

#### School

Palm Bay Primary School
St Engelbert's Catholic Primary School
St Joseph's Catholic Primary School
St Saviour's CE Junior School
The Foreland School
Ursuline College

## 11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

#### School

Mereworth Community Primary School Slade Primary School Woodlands Infant School

## 12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

## School

Bishops Down Primary School Colliers Green CEP School Oakley School Sandhurst Primary School Southborough CEP School St Peter's CEP School

## 13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

## **Appointee**

Mrs C Buckingham Mr T Prater Mrs M Ainsworth Mrs J Doherty Mrs C Roberts

## **Appointee**

Revd C Pinchbeck Ms M Diamant Mr A Day Mr K O'Reilly Mr G Sergeant

## **Appointee**

Mr M Barnes Mrs J Coppock Mr R Baker Mr R Wilton Miss J Williams Mr T Carpenter

## **Appointee**

Prof S Palmer Mr S Concannon Mr G Bartlett

## **Appointee**

Mr P Wilson Mrs P Vinall Mr A Paterson Mrs J Griggs Mrs J Davies Mrs H Best